West Coast Sport Fishing Regulations

Created on March 4, 2013 at 4:25 pm by Admin

The information shown was updated on April. 9, 2015.

A reminder that while this information is provided to assist readers of fishing regulations and license requirements, CoastalFishingVideos.com cannot be held responsible or liable for 100% accuracy and timeliness of this information. As always, it is strongly suggested that if you are planning on fishing, you should always contact your local fish and game department to get the latest information and requirements.

Washington Fishing Permits & License Endorsements

Recreational Fishing License Sales

Fishing License Endorsements

License Fees
Effective September 1, 2011

The license fees below include all State Fees and Dealer Fees
(Dealer fee totals may vary depending on the number of license products purchased together.)
FISHING & SHELLFISH
License Types Resident
(Aged 16-69)
Non-Resident Resident Senior
(Aged 70+)
Youth
(Aged 15)
Disabled*
Annual Freshwater $29.50 $84.50 $7.50 Must Purchase Combo Must Purchase Combo
Annual Saltwater $30.05 $59.75 $8.05 Must Purchase Combo Must Purchase Combo
Annual Shellfish/Seaweed $16.30 $35.00 $10.80 Must Purchase Combo Must Purchase Combo
Annual Combo Fishing/Shellfish $54.25 $123.55 —- $10.25 $10.25
1-Day FW/SW/Shellfish $11.35 $20.15 $11.35 Must Purchase Combo Must Purchase Combo
1-Day FW/SW/Shellfish – Active Duty Military —- $11.35 —- —- —-
2-Day FW/SW/Shellfish $15.75 $28.95 $15.75 Must Purchase Combo Must Purchase Combo
2-Day FW/SW/Shellfish – Active Duty Military —- $15.75 —- —- —-
3-Day FW/SW/Shellfish $19.05 $35.55 $19.05 Must Purchase Combo Must Purchase Combo
3-Day FW/SW/Shellfish – Active Duty Military —- $19.05 —- —- —-
Annual Razor Clam $13.00 $20.70 $13.00 Must Purchase Combo Must Purchase Combo
3-day Razor Clam $8.60 $8.60 $8.60 $8.60 $8.60
Catch Record Cards 1st card free, additional cards $12.10/each
Non Reporting Crab Admin Penalty  $10.00  $10.00 $10.00  $10.00  $10.00
Two-pole Endorsement (freshwater) $14.80 $14.80 $6.00 $14.80 $14.80
Columbia River Salmon/Steelhead Endorsement $8.75 $8.75 $7.10 $7.10 $7.10
Puget Sound Crab Endorsement $8.75 $8.75 $8.75 $8.75 $8.75
Puget Sound Crab Endorsement on I-3 Day Temp. $3.80 $3.80 $3.80 —- —-

Fishing Permits

Other Information

Here’s all you have to do to get started:

Step 1. Download and Read Fishing Pamphlet
The pamphlet contains everything you need to know about fishing and shellfishing in Washington.
Step 2. Check Emergency Fishing Rules for Updates
Fishing closures and openings happen constantly throughout the year. The Emergency Rules keep you up-to-date.
Step 3. Go Fishing!
Take a look at this introductory guide to fishing and shellfishing in Washington.

Sport Fishing Seasons and Regulations

GENERAL REGULATIONS AND SEASONS

COLUMBIA RIVER

HALIBUT

OTHER INFORMATION

Season Setting

 

Oregon Recreational rules and regulations

(as of 4/9/2015)

Angling License

Angling License with Columbia River Basin Endorsement

Resident $33.00

Resident $42.75

Non-Resident $106.25

Non-Resident $116.00

Juvenile Angling License (age 14-17) $9.00 $20.25
Senior Citizen Angling License (70 and older, Oregon resident for 5 years)

Senior Citizen Angling License w/Columbia River Basin Endorsement

$15.00

$24.75

Two Rod Angling License $17.00 $17.00
Combined Angling Harvest Tag $26.50 $26.50
Juvenile Angling Harvest Tag (17 and under) $8.50 $8.50

Note: Beginning Jan. 1, 2013 barbless hooks are required when fishing for salmon, steelhead and trout on the Columbia River from the mouth to the OR/WA border above McNary Dam. Barbless hooks also are required on the Willamette River below the falls, including the Gilbert River and Multnomah Channel. For a complete list of other Columbia River tributaries covered by the new rule, click here.

 

California Sport Fishing Licenses

The following information is taken from the official California Department of Fish and Wildlife at https://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Fishing as of 4/9/2015.

Annual Sport Fishing Licenses
A sport fishing license is required for any person attempting to take fish, mollusks, crustaceans, invertebrates, amphibians, or reptiles in inland or ocean waters.  Additional validations and report cards are required for certain species and areas.
Title Fee Description
Resident Sport Fishing $47.01 Available for any resident 16 years of age or older.
Nonresident Sport Fishing $126.36 Available for any non-resident 16 years of age or older.
Reduced-Fee Sport Fishing License – Disabled Veteran $6.95 at CDFW Offices
$7.30 from license agents
Available for any resident or nonresident honorably discharged disabled veteran with a 50 percent or greater service-connected disability.  Your first Disabled Veteran Reduced Fee Sport Fishing License must be purchased from a CDFW License Sales Office. Subsequent licenses may be purchased from any license agent.
Reduced-Fee Sport Fishing License – Recovering Service Member $6.95 Available for any recovering service member of the US military. The Recovering Service Member Reduced-Fee Sport Fishing License is only available at CDFW License Sales Offices.
Reduced Fee Sport Fishing License – Low Income Senior $6.95 Available for low-income California residents, 65 years of age and older, who meet the specified annual income requirements. The Reduced-Fee Sport Fishing License for Low Income Seniors is only available at CDFW License Sales Offices.
Free Sport Fishing License – Low Income Native American NO FEE Available for any American Indian or lineal descendant whose household income does not exceed federal poverty guidelines. The Free Sport Fishing License for Low Income Native Americans is only available at CDFW License Sales Offices.
Free Sport Fishing License – Mobility Impaired, Blind or Developmentally Disabled NO FEE Available for a person who is blind, developmentally disabled, or mobility impaired.  Your first Free Sport Fishing License must be obtained from a CDFW License Sales Office. Subsequent licenses may be obtained from any license agent.
Short Term Sport Fishing Licenses
Title Fee Description
One-day Sport Fishing License $15.12 Allows a resident or nonresident to fish for one specified day.  One-day sport fishing licenses are exempt from the Ocean Enhancement Validation requirement.
Two-day Sport Fishing License $23.50 Allows a resident or nonresident to fish for two consecutive days.  Two-day sport fishing licenses are exempt from the Ocean Enhancement Validation requirement.
Ten-day Nonresident Sport Fishing License $47.01 Allows a nonresident to fish for ten consecutive days.
Validations and Report Cards
Report cards are required for any person fishing for steelhead, sturgeon, abalone, spiny lobster, or salmon (salmon in the Klamath, Trinity and Smith Rivers only).  Every person fishing for these species must have an appropriate report card, including any person who is not required to have a sport fishing license, such as a child who is under 16 years of age, a person who is fishing from a public pier, and any person who is fishing on a free fishing day.
Title Fee Description
Ocean Enhancement Validation $5.14 Required to fish in ocean waters south of Point Arguello (Santa Barbara County). An Ocean Enhancement Validation is not required when fishing under the authority of a One or Two-Day Sport Fishing License.
Second Rod Validation $14.61 Allows a person to fish with two rods or lines in inland waters, except for waters in which only artificial lures or barbless hooks may be used.
Colorado River Validation n/a Discontinued – Anglers who possess either a valid California sport fishing license or a valid Arizona sport fishing license can fish from either shore of the portion of the Colorado River that makes up the California-Arizona boundary.
Abalone Report Card $22.42 Required for any person taking abalone from ocean waters north of the center of the mouth of San Francisco Bay. Only one Abalone Report Card may be issued per person each license year.
Sturgeon Fishing Report Card $8.13 Required for any persons taking sturgeon.  Only one Sturgeon Fishing Report Card may be issued per person each year.
North Coast Salmon Report Card $6.22 Required for any person taking salmon in the Smith River System or Klamath-Trinity River System.
Steelhead Report Card $7.05 Required for any person taking steelhead in inland waters.
Spiny Lobster Report Card (valid for the entire lobster season – September 27, 2014 through March 18, 2015). $9.46 Required for all persons taking spiny lobster.   Report card holders who fail to return their Spiny Lobster Report Card or report their harvest online by the April 30 following season, will be assessed a $20 non-return fee when they purchase a spiny lobster report card for the following season.
Lifetime Fishing Licenses
Title Fee Description
Ages 0-9
Ages 10-39
Ages 40-61
Ages 62+
$ 517.00
$ 844.50
$ 761.00
$ 517.00
Available to residents of California. Lifetime fishing licensees receive an annual sport fishing license each year for life. Lifetime License Information
Fishing Privilege Package $349.75 Includes a Lifetime Second-Rod Stamp, Ocean Enhancement Stamp, North Coast Salmon Report Card and Steelhead Report Card.
Duplicate Fees
Title Fee Description
Duplicate Sport Fishing License $10.54 Replaces a lost or stolen sport fishing license.
Sport Fishing Validation $3.24 (Second-Rod and Ocean Enhancement) Replaces lost or stolen sport fishing validations.
Sturgeon Report Card $15.45 Replaces lost or stolen Sturgeon Report Card. Available only at CDFW license sales offices. Sturgeon Fishing Report Card Affidavit
Abalone Report Card $18.03 Replaces lost or stolen Abalone Report Card. Available only at CDFW license sales offices. Duplicate Abalone Report Card Affidavit
Title Fee Description
Resident Sport Fishing $46.44 Required for a resident 16 years of age or older to take fish, mollusks, crustaceans, invertebrates, amphibians or reptile in inland or ocean waters. Additional validations and report cards are required for certain species and areas.
Nonresident Sport Fishing $124.77 Required for a nonresident 16 years of age or older to take fish, mollusks, crustaceans, invertebrates, amphibians or reptile in inland or ocean waters. Additional validations and report cards are required for certain species and areas.
Free Sport Fishing License – Low Income Native American NO FEE Available for any American Indian or lineal descendant who is a resident of the State, 16 years of age or older and whose total annual income does not exceed the specified annual income levels for the number of people living in the household. Certification by the Bureau of Indian Affairs (B.I.A) or proof of being on a tribal registry is required. Verification of income on Form FG371 is required annually. Information about this license including the specifics annual income levels is available at www.dfg.ca.gov/licensing/fishing/sportfishingfreereduced.html. The license is only available at CDFW License Sales Offices.
Reduced Fee Sport Fishing License – Low Income Senior $6.95 Available for any California resident, 65 years of age and older and whose total monthly income from all sources does not exceed the specified annual income levels. Certification of income is required annually from the United States Department of Social Security. Information about this license including the specific annual income levels is available at www.dfg.ca.gov/licensing/fishing/sportfishingfreereduced.html. The license is only available at CDFW License Sales Offices.
Reduced-fee Sport Fishing License – Recovering Service Member $6.95 at CDFW offices$7.30 from licensed agents Available for any resident or nonresident honorably discharged disabled veteran with a 50 percent or greater service-connected disability who takes fish. Certification from the United State Department of Veterans’ Affairs is required at the time of application or a copy of a previous year’s California reduced fee sport fishing license. Information about this license is available at www.dfg.ca.gov/licensing/fishing/sportfishingfreereduced.html. First license must be purchased from a CDFW License Sales Office. Subsequent licenses may be purchased from any license agent.
Free Sport Fishing License – Mobility Impaired, Blind or Developmentally Disabled NO FEE A person meeting one of the three specific criteria described below may qualify for this license. Information about this license is available at www.dfg.ca.gov/licensing/fishing/sportfishingfreereduced.html. First license must be purchased from a CDFW License Sales Office. Subsequent licenses may be purchased from any license agent.(A) Available for any resident or nonresident with central vision acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with the aid of the best possible correcting glasses, or central vision acuity better than 20/200 if the widest diameter of the remaining visual field is no greater than 20 degrees. Certification of blindness by an optometrist or an ophthalmologist is required.(B) Available for any person who is a resident of the State and who is so severely physically disabled as to be permanently unable to move from place to place without the aid of a wheelchair, walker, forearm crutches or a comparable mobility-related device. Verification by a licensed physician or a copy of the previous year’s free fishing license is required.(C) Available for any developmentally disabled person. Certification by a licensed physician or the director of a State regional center is required.

Short Term Sport Fishing Licenses

Title Fee Description
One-day Sport Fishing License $14.86 Allows a resident or nonresident 16 years of age or older to take fish, mollusks, crustaceans, invertebrates, amphibians or reptiles in inland or ocean waters. Additional validations or report cards are required for certain species or areas. One-day sport fishing licenses are exempt from the Ocean Enhancement Validation requirement.
Two-day Sport Fishing License $23.25 Allows a resident or nonresident 16 years of age or older to take fish, mollusks, crustaceans, invertebrates, amphibians or reptiles in inland or ocean waters for two consecutive days. Additional validations and report cards are required for certain species and areas. Two-day sport fishing licenses are exempt from the Ocean Enhancement Validation requirement.
Ten-day Nonresident Sport Fishing License $46.44 Allows a nonresident 16 years of age or older to take fish, mollusks, crustaceans, invertebrates, amphibians or reptile in inland or ocean waters for ten consecutive days. Additional validations and report cards are required for certain species and areas.

2013-2014 Ocean Sport Fishing Regulations

Regulations effective through February 28, 2016 unless otherwise noted.

2015-2016 Ocean Sport Fishing Regulations Adobe Reader required
This is the 2015-2016 Ocean Sport Fishing regulations booklet that will be distributed in May, 2015.
Large file size.

http://www.dfg.ca.gov/marine/inseason2015.asp
This page provides links to CDFW news releases detailing the reasons behind in-season regulatory changes as well as a summary of changes.

California Ocean Sport Fishing Regulations Map
Up-to-date sport fishing regulations online – just click on the map to see regulations for your area.

Summary of 2015 Recreational Groundfish Fishing Regulations

 

California Fishing Passport

Marine Management News

A new fishing incentive and recognition program to highlight and promote fishing throughout the state. Pick up your free copy of the California Fishing Passport book listing 150 different popular fresh and saltwater finfish and shellfish that occur throughout the state. Try to catch one of every species listed, and you will receive stamps in your passport book documenting each achievement.

 

Comments

Dedicated servers says:

Nearshore Fishery Trap Endorsement transfers may be obtained from the Department, 1740 N. Market Blvd. A late fee is collected when a limited entry or restricted access commercial fishing permit is received after the deadline according to the following schedule.

Write a comment

*